Founded in 1965 by the Ministry of Electronic Industry of the USSR and fully funded from the state budget, the factory (originally known as GORIZONT) was conceived as a supplier of high-tech electromagnetic components for the aerospace and shipbuilding industries of the USSR Ministry of Defence.

GORIZONT’s compact production facilities were originally specialized in the production of high frequency chokes. Later the company expanded its product range at the expense of such new products as delay lines for military television systems (early seventies) and pulse transformers (1975).

 Those were the enterprise’s compactness and manufacturing process flexibility that always allowed it to introduce the newest industrial technologies. Collaboration with various relevant ministries and research institutions led to a gradual accumulation of the company’s outstanding scientific potential. It was this scientific potential that allowed GORIZONT to exist in the early nineties, when all Soviet enterprises of the kind left without a minimum budget funding at the background of collapsing planned economy and were forced to fight for survival by all means. In this difficult period, the GORIZONT’s directorship, with varying success tried to bring the factory out of crisis by adopting such less technologically advanced and more consumer oriented goods as magnetic reading heads for audio cassette players and power transformers for electrical appliances.

 Even more important was the fact that GORIZONT’s scientific base functioned at that time in spite of financial difficulties. It was in the first half of the nineties when the unique equipment – the machinery for casting, cutting, and annealing of amorphous magnetic ribbon was developed in the factory’s research centre. This equipment did not only make ​​it possible to greatly stream line the production process at the factory, but was also offered for sale.

 At the same time the factory was privatized and renamed into OJSC MSTATOR.

Основанный в 1965 году при Министерстве электронной промышленности СССР, полностью финансировавшийся из госбюджета завод (первоначально называвшийся "Горизонт") задумывался как поставщик высокотехнологичных электромагнитных компонентов для аэрокосмической и судостроительной промышленности Министерства Обороны СССР. 

Компактные производственные мощности "Горизонта" были изначально специализированы на выпуске высокочастотных дросселей. Позже ассортимент продукции предприятия расширялся за счёт таких новых изделий, как линии задержки для военных телевизионных систем (начало семидесятых годов) и импульсные трансформаторы (1975).

Именно компактность предприятия и гибкость его производственного процесса всегда позволяли предприятию внедрять самые новые для своего времени промышленные технологии. Сотрудничество завода с различными профильными министерствами и научно-исследовательскими институтами привело к постепенному накоплению на предприятии выдающегося научного потенциала. Именно этот интеллектуальный багаж и позволил "Горизонту" продолжить своё существование в начале девяностых годов, когда все советские предприятия подобного рода оказались без минимального бюджетного финансирования на фоне разваливавшейся плановой экономики и были вынуждены всеми способами вести борьбу за выживание. В этот сложный период руководством "Горизонта" с переменным успехом предпринимались попытки вывести завод из кризиса путём освоения таких менее технологичных и более ориентированных на конечного потребителя товаров, как магнитные считывающие головки для проигрывателей аудиокассет и трансформаторы питания для электробытовых приборов.

Ещё более важную роль сыграл тот факт, что научная база "Горизонта" функционировала в то время несмотря на финансовые трудности. Именно в первой половине девяностых годов в заводском научно-исследовательском центре было разработано уникальное оборудование - машины розлива, резки и отжига аморфной магнитной ленты. Это оборудование не только дало возможность значительно рационализировать производственный процесс на самом заводе, но и стало предлагаться на продажу.

Тогда же завод был приватизирован и переименован в ПАО МСТАТОР.